Kolsch

It’s been several years since I’ve brewed a Kolsch and the last time I don’t think I had my temperature control dialed in which makes this a really tough beer to make well. I plan on fermenting this @ 60 degrees and then doing a diacetyl rest @ 65-68. The tettnang hops I have are only a year old, but the AA are really low. I’ve adjusted by using more, but I hope it works out okay. Kolsch is a great spring-summer transition beer. I haven’t cared for the Wyeast Kolsch yeast. I’ve heard many commercial brewers use the German Ale yeast instead with great results which is what Imperial Kaiser is. I will fine with gelatin as this yeast tends to not floc out well. Cheers!

OG – 1.045
FG – 1.012
ABV – 4.4%
IBU – 26
SRM – 2.6

German Pils (Best) – 8 lbs. (91.4%)
German Wheat – 8 oz. (5.7%)
German Vienna – 4 oz. (2.9%)

90 minute boil
Magnum (11.8%) – 0.4 oz. @ 60
German Tettnang (1.3%) – 3.00 oz. @ 20

Imperial Kaiser yeast

About dustball44

husband and father pastor @ the evergreen community homebrewer and beer enthusiast
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

