Huckleberry Sour

I’m taking a break from our regularly scheduled brewing (Winter Warmer) to get a sour beer going. I love sour beer but have never brewed one. I’ve found the Mad Fermentationist’s website to be extremely valuable in understanding how to go about it. Particularly this post. Also, I recommend reading Wild Brews for history and culture of sour beers.

I’m brewing a Belgian Blond base (kind of) and will let primary fermentation go 2-3 weeks with both Belgian Strong strain as well as the bugs in the Roeselare blend. Then I plan on transferring to secondary for a year before I transfer the beer on top of Huckleberries that Devin and I will pick up in Idaho in August, will freeze and will be ready to use next November. After the beer ages for three months on the fruit, it should be ready to drink in February of 2014.

After all that waiting, here’s to hoping it doesn’t suck! 🙂

Belgian Pilsen Malt – 13lb.
Belgian Caramel Vienna – 12.8 oz.
Belgian Munich Malt – 12.8 oz
Belgian Biscuit Malt – 8.00 oz

German Tettnang – 1.00 oz @ 60

Wyeast 1388 – Belgian Strong Ale
Wyeast 3763 – Roeselare Blend

IBU – 13.5
OG – 1.079
ABV – 8.0%

About dustball44

husband and father pastor @ the evergreen community homebrewer and beer enthusiast
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment