Zombie Dust…ish

11665523_10206906391115275_7188468785977749562_nThis summer I was able to hit up Three Floyd’s when I was in the Chicago area. Unlike some reviewers on Yelp, we had a good experience. The food was solid and the beers I had were quality. Wish they would have done flights, but what can you do? I sat at a table and watched people come in the “to-go” beer section for a few hours buying cases of Gumballhead and some lager I can’t remember for 40 bucks a pop. One woman came in with a cart and dropped 160 dollars on 4 cases of Gumballhead, a moderately above average American Wheat beer. What I concluded in my visit was people in Indiana LOVE throwing their money at Three Floyd’s whenever possible. But can’t blame them as there aren’t a plethora of local options.

As over-hyped as Zombie Dust is, it’s an enjoyable beer. It’s weird that they call it a Pale as it’s over 6% and focused almost entirely on the single hop Citra bill. In the Pacific NW, people would drink this beer and say, “Yeah, that’s pretty good, I’d have it again.” But it’s legendary in NW Indiana where the next best thing is….uh, I suppose that’s the reason. If I had to choose between Barley Brown’s Hand Truck and Zombie Dust, I’d probably choose the former. Regardless, Zombie Dust is a solid pale (or IPA) and I really enjoyed it.

The problem is, it’s IMPOSSIBLE to buy in stores. They don’t even have it for sale in bottles at the pub. Usually what happens is when a beer or liquor stores gets a case, they split it up amongst staff and none of it ever touches the shelves. Certainly my friends in the NW will never try it unless they happen to be in the Chicago area. I think the big draw and hype surrounding this beer is largely on account of it’s elusive and limited nature. Scarcity sells like crazy. After all, it’s just a single-hopped Citra pale. Those are a dime a dozen, and this isn’t much better than others I’ve had.

Anyhoo, I thought on account of this fun trip to Three Floyds and so I can share some Zombie Dust love with my friends I would just brew a clone. There are multiple recipes floating around the internet and I’ve heard many are very close. So either there was some information leaked somewhere or everyone is wrong. 🙂 I’ve altered what I’ve found a little bit for efficiency but it’s similar to many others. Truth is, even if it’s not exactly like Zombie Dust, it’s hard to make a bad beer with that much Citra.

Water Profile: Hoppy
Adding 2.5 tsp. of Gypsum and 0.5 tsp Calcium Chloride split between mash and sparge water.

OG – 1.062
FG – 1.014
ABV – 6.2%
IBU – 60
SRM – 8.4

2-Row – 10.5 lbs.
Munich 10L – 1 lbs
Carapils Malt – 8.00 oz
Caramel 60L Malt – 8.00 oz
Melanoidin Malt – 4.00 oz

US Citra 12.4 % – 0.50 oz @ FWH
US Citra 12.4 % – 0.75 oz @ 15
US Citra 12.4 % – 1.00 oz @ 10
US Citra 12.4 % – 1.00 oz @ 5
US Citra 12.4 % – 2.00 oz @ end (20 minute whirlpool)
US Citra 12.4 % – 3.00 oz @ Dry-Hopped

Wyeast 1968-London ESB Ale (1.25L starter on stir plate)

About dustball44

husband and father pastor @ the evergreen community homebrewer and beer enthusiast
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment